Home > Latest News > Vodafone To Expand Regional Network With 32 New Mobile Base Stations

Vodafone To Expand Regional Network With 32 New Mobile Base Stations

Vodafone To Expand Regional Network With 32 New Mobile Base Stations

Vodafone is expanding its regional mobile network, investing more than $9 million, with 32 new mobile base stations to be rolled out in New South Wales, Tasmania, Queensland and Western Australia.

The majority of the sites will be operational by the end of the year, with all to be on-air by the end of 2017.

“Vodafone is committed to increasing coverage and choice for customers in regional Australia, and we’ve identified 32 sites which will build on our growth in areas outside the major metropolitan centres,” Vodafone chief technology officer Benoit Hanssen commented.

“Many customers living in regional and rural Australia don’t have access to reliable coverage, choice of provider, or both, and we’re determined to drive change.”

The sites are in addition to the 70 sites Vodafone is building as part of round one of the Mobile Black Spot Programme.

“With the federal election campaign now underway, we’re reminding both side of politics of the importance of reliable and affordable 21st century telecommunications services in regional Australia,” Vodafone chief strategy officer Dan Lloyd commented.

“It’s crucial that whichever party wins the election ensures the Productivity Commission’s inquiry into the current Universal Service Obligation (USO) arrangements leads to meaningful change which benefits customers.

“We think the $300 million in funding provided to Telstra every year to maintain an outdated copper network and payphones in regional areas could be much better spent.

“If a permanent Mobile Black Spot Programme was established, potentially using a portion of those USO funds, the number of regional areas to benefit from increased coverage and choice would increase substantially.”

The 32 sites will be located at:

  • New South Wales (19): Coffs Harbour Park Beach, Coffs Harbour CBD, Coffs Harbour West, Toormina, Coffs Harbour Industrial, Coffs Harbour Jetty, Tamworth Showgrounds, South Tamworth, West Tamworth, Taminda, Tamworth Golden Guitar, Coffs Harbour North, Berrigan, Yeoval, Cudal, Tallimba North, Rushes Creek, Bendemeer and Kootingal.

  • Queensland (7): Bundaberg East, Bundaberg North, Svensson Heights, Bargara, Elliott Heads, Burnett Heads and Drillham.

  • Western Australia (2): Carrabin and Burracoppin.

  • Tasmania (4): Myrtle Bank, Scottsdale, Campania and Ouse.

You may also like
TPG Optimistic of Growth Despite The Challenges
Samsung Cuts TPG Telecom Deal For NSW 5G mmWave Trial
COVID Lockdowns: WA Premier Says CE Retailers Not “Essential” Businesses
Boost Founder Wades Into TPG-ACCC Bunfight
TPG Hits Back Against “Out Of Touch”, “Misleading” ACCC