Home > Networking > Broadband > NBN Fixed Wireless Blitz SA

NBN Fixed Wireless Blitz SA

The company building the National Broadband Network, NBN Co,  has unveiled the areas where planned proposals will be lodged to deliver high-speed fixed wireless broadband.

NBN’s fixed wireless network provides ISPs with wholesale access speeds of up to 12Mbps, with plans for higher speeds in the future.

These are the first areas of regional SA to be slected for NBN wireless services.

Over the coming months, NBN Co and its design and construction partners will work with local governments to identify appropriate locations for fixed wireless network infrastructure in parts of Mid Murraylands, South East, Far South East and Kangaroo Island.

However, similar design plans, which ran into trouble among local authorities in neighbouring states, are “subject to final planning and other approvals,” says NBN Co’s Community Account Manager, Chris Gregory.

Planned facilities will to be switched on in stages from mid 2014 in locations include:.

· Coorong District Council

· District Council of Grant

· District Council of Yankalilla

· Kangaroo Island Council

· Karoonda East Murray Council

· Mid Murray Council

· Murray Bridge Council

· Naracoorte Lucindale Council

· Tatiara District Council· Wattle Range Council

· West Wimmera Shire Council (Victoria)

“This announcement is tremendous news for these regions, many of which have little or no access to high-speed broadband, or those confined to a limited service, such as dial-up or broadband over the mobile network,” Mr Gregory said.

“Fixed wireless aims to deliver speeds and services that city people take for granted.”

Unlike a mobile wireless service offered by telcos, where speeds can be affected by the number of people moving into and out of the area, NBN Co’s fixed wireless network is engineered to deliver services to a fixed number of premises within a coverage area.

“For decades, rural and regional Australia has been left behind when it comes to telecommunications,” said Gregory.