Home > Latest News > Another Major Nation Bans Huawei, ZTE

Another Major Nation Bans Huawei, ZTE

Australia, New Zealand, UK, and the US will soon be joined by one of its closest allies in banning the use of China’s Huawei Technologies and ZTE 5G technology.

Canada has joined the rest of the aforementioned countries, all part of the Five Eyes intelligence-sharing network, in banning the gear in the name of national security.

“We intend to exclude Huawei and ZTE from our 5G networks,” Industry Minister Francois-Philippe Champagne told reporters.

“Providers who already have this equipment installed will be required to cease its use and remove it under the plans we’re announcing today.”

Companies have until June 2024 to remove the gear, with 4G equipment to be replaced by the end of 2027.

The delay is surprising, given Huawei CFO Meng Wanzhou was arrested in Canada on a US warrant, sparking tensions between the two nations.

Alykhan Velshi, VP of corporate affairs for Huawei in Canada said he, and his 1,500-strong Canadian workforce are waiting to hear “what sort of national security threats they think Huawei poses”.

You may also like
REVIEW: The ZTE Axon 40 Ultra Is The Best Phone You Shouldn’t Buy
$86 Million Seized From Chinese Mobile Brand Offices
Wearables Market Declines For First Time
Business Operating In Australia Banned Over Security Concerns
ZTE’s New Flagship Features Under Display Camera